What do you do with Jesus on the Corner, part 2

I think we’ve been getting better these days at being honest about the ugliness and selfishness and failures in our lives.  We call it authenticity and we put a high value on it.

In the past we’ve been better at just showing our shiny side and talking a good game.  So now we make a big deal about how much we fall short.  And it’s really good that we know that we’re all in this screw up boat together.

I’m comfortable sharing my failures.  There’s a lot of material there!  But I think we also need to be honest about those tiny moments of grace and small wins.  We need to say “Look!  With God’s help we can do this!”

Wednesday I shared my recent experience driving by a homeless woman and the fears that went through my head as I did.  I didn’t stop.  I want to be honest about the many times I’ve let Jesus down.

But last winter there was a different Jesus on the corner.  I was in Florida and it was early morning.  I was riding my bike to Starbucks as the sun came up pink over the palms and the boats moored in the harbor.

IMG_3270

This time Jesus looked like a round middle-aged Jamaican woman in a white uniform who was asking directions of another early riser who clearly didn’t have answers.

I stopped and asked if I could help.  She was a caregiver, new in Naples from Miami where her house had been foreclosed.  She had gotten a temporary job nursing a wealthy invalid overnight in one of the high-rises on the gulf and now was trying to get directions to walk to a bus stop to get to a friend’s house where she was staying.

I could tell her how to walk to get to the bus stop, but it was a couple miles away and who knew how long she would have to wait once she got there.  I thought I should do something more than give directions, but all the same questions and fears went through my head like with the pregnant girl plus

  • What if she’s a serial killer cleverly disguised as a plump Jamaican woman? (I mean, really, Ted Bundy didn’t look the “type”!  Who knows?)
  • What if she’s a pathological liar with mental issues?
  • What if she hijacks me and makes me rob a bank and we end up on “America’s Most Wanted”?
  • What if I have to spend my whole last day in Florida taking care of her?  Read: What if, (gasp), this is inconvenient and I die of discomfort?

I thought of Jesus, gulped and said “If you wait right here, I’ll ride home and get my car.  I can take you where you want to go.”

IMG_0152

Ten minutes later, I was back and she was still standing there, tired and patient.  She got in the car and gave me the address of her friend which I put into Mapquest.  It said to head towards Miami on highway 75.  

Miami??! I gulped again, but I also relaxed my grip.  I thought, “Ok Lord, we’re on this adventure together.  Let’s go.”

An hour or so later I was back.

I share this tiny experience today, on Fearless Friday because we all face situations like this.  I want you to be encouraged.  I didn’t die, she wasn’t a serial killer, and the whole ride my new friend just kept saying “Thank you Jesus.  Thank you Jesus.”

By the grace of God, a small win.

When is a time you’ve seen Jesus on the corner?

OneWord2013_Fearless

4 thoughts on “What do you do with Jesus on the Corner, part 2

  1. beautiful Laura! thank you for sharing this – it IS good (great?!) to share the wins to give courage to others to do the sometimes uncomfortable yet beautiful work of Jesus

    Like

I'd love to hear from you and others will be enriched by your thoughts! Share here and continue the conversation.